The Fountain Of Youth Went Dry

The Fountain of Youth

Last year I returned to the work force after almost sixteen years of being a stay at home mom.  I had to be the luckiest woman in the world,  not only did I get to stay home with my kids but when it was time to return to the world of  working professionals I managed to land the dream job for any middle-aged woman.  I found myself going to work every day for two incredible plastic surgeons.  I had found the fountain of youth and it was at my disposal to drink from as I pleased.   I must admit I had to start getting ready for bed fifteen minutes earlier just to finish the process of turning back the clock, but alas the results where amazing. Then the move!  My husband announced that yet again we had to pack up our belongings, tuck away our memories and move on.  Bye, bye job, good-bye botox and juevederm, good-bye expensive face creams, good-bye to the hope of someday having my eyes lifted, tummy-tucked, lipo sucked.  Yes just as fast as I found the fountain of youth, it went dry!

The only way I’m going to get my butt lifted or tummy tucked now is to pull out the old abs of steel and buns of steel videos.  My supply of facial products has long run dry so it’s back to “Oil For Old Ladies” from the local Rite Aid and larger sun glasses to cover the crows feet at the corners of my eyes.  I guess the good news is it doesn’t take me long to get ready for bed anymore.  No that really doesn’t make me feel that much better…I miss my stuff!

Can you believe that fate can hand you such a curve ball.  Here Sandra, take the keys to the kingdom…oops we need to change the locks.  So here I am locked out of the kingdom and living as a servant once again to the family of five.  Cooking, cleaning, laundry, bills, with the only fringe benefit being time to blog.

Some people say moving is one of the most stressful life events people face.  I don’t know about that but I do know in my case it definitely added at least five years to my appearance.

As the saying goes, if it’s too good to be true…

Leave a Reply

