I’ll Take Another

Coffee that is.  I’ll take another coffee.  I hate Monday mornings.  Especially when it is dark and dreary.

The dishwasher is looking at me wondering when I am going to empty it. The washing machine is getting impatient waiting for the first of many loads to get started.  My running shoes are sitting at the door in hopes of a brisk morning walk.  My text books are curious as to whether or not they will be cracked open today.

My familiar friends are waiting with anticipation to see which one I will choose to tackle first today.  You will have to wait a little longer my friends.  As for now…I’ll take another coffee instead.

Why does the thought of having another coffee instead of tackling the daily chores of a stay at home mom make me feel guilty.  I hate that I feel like I have to be “doing” something all the time.  I am not entitled to just sit and relax.  It is that whole stereotype of the stay at home mom eating bon-bons and watching Soap Opera’s that I am  fighting.

I’ve been doing this stay at home thing for almost eight-teen years, minus the last attempt to go back to work before “the move.”  It is just now that I have given myself permission to wear sweats, a pony tail and no make-up if I feel like it.  Up to this point it has been “proper attire”, full make-up and hair fully styled.

Why do stay-at-home mom’s feel the need to justify what we do with our time? (Or is it just me?)  It is an honorable job with little reward and no real recognition.  I need to stop apologizing for what I do and if I want to have another cup of coffee, so be it.  After all I can’t clock out at 4:00 and claim that my job is done for the day.

5 thoughts on “I’ll Take Another

  1. I think women are programmed to feel guilty no matter what. I am not a stay at home mom but I have Sundays and Mondays off. I live for Monday morning and my three cups of coffee… and yes I feel guilty like I should be doing every chore that I failed to get to or bake or cook a decent meal for once. So kick back and enjoy your little two minutes of happiness and peace…it is there for the taking! enjoy

    • I agree about the programming. My mom was the queen of feeling guilty and I learned from her. I am so careful not to pass that trait on to my daughter. I would like to see the cycle broken

      • forget it…it is our nature as women I think.. that whole nuture crap that we do 🙂

  2. My eleven year old recently told me I would never die. I have to admit I was intrigued by this statement so I asked him how he knew this. He said…”Because you will have to clean the house and wash the clothes…cook dinner and do my chores when I forget…oh and take me to buy school supplies.” I laughed…sarcastically…”Doing all your chores will not keep me alive.” He thought for a moment and said…”oh so ghost are real?”
    A Mom’s job is never done…
    Peach State

Leave a Reply

