When Did They Grow Up?

When you think of your children how do you see them?  Are they the age they are now or is it some other time when they are much younger?  I somehow can’t fathom how I got from those early years to now so quickly.  Perhaps that is why my brain still has such a hard time registering that my oldest is a young man now instead of a boy and that the other two are teenagers and not toddlers.

I remember when they where infants wondering how I could possibly love them anymore than I did right then.  I was also afraid that perhaps I wouldn’t enjoy them as much when they got older.  You know, it’s kind of like that puppy thing.  Puppies are so cute but a dog is just a dog.  Was that going to be how I felt about my kids?  I can honestly say that somehow your heart manages to grow with the children, you love them more today than you did yesterday.  The greatest surprise is that they are even more fun now than they were as babies.  They have far more capabilities than merely crying, eating and pooping (although at times it is questionable with the boys).

I don’t long to go back to the earlier years at all.  I love where we are today.  I just can’t figure out how we got here so quickly.  Is it just me or does everyone experience that illusion of time moving faster and faster each year?

This is how I still them

How did time go so fast!

6 thoughts on “When Did They Grow Up?

    • It makes me a little sad that maybe I should be a better daughter. We get caught up in our own lives so much we forget what an important part we are in theirs.

      • how true! My parents recently lost a dear friend of 35 years. They wanted our family to be represented and got very frustrated at the fact that our lives were so busy. I was told they were not upset with me and understood my situation. I got off the hone with them and called my dear friend and told him I would not be able to attend his wedding…I would be going to a funeral. I am glad I went! If only for my parents!
        Peach State

      • how true! My parents recently lost a dear friend of 35 years. They wanted our family to be represented and got very frustrated at the fact that our lives were so busy. I was told they were not upset with me and understood my situation. I got off the phone with them and called my dear friend and told him I would not be able to attend his wedding…I would be going to a funeral. I am glad I went! If only for my parents!
        Peach State

      • It’s funny, because my oldest son doesn’t live with us right now so he can finish his senior year (we had to move) and I give him trouble all the time for only calling when he needs something. Then I quickly pick up the phone and call my parents to just say “hi” Don’t want that Karma girl to get me!

Leave a Reply

