One Woman’s Addiction

My name is Sandra and I am addicted to the Food Network.

Yes it is hard to admit but it is time to be honest about my problems and perhaps by talking about it I can finally get help.

Dinners, Drive-Ins and Dives, Cupcake Wars, Sweet Genius,  Chopped, Iron Chef, Mexican Made Easy, the list goes on and on.  I dream about Bobby Flay, Emeril Lagasse, and Jamie Oliver.  I just can’t help it.  I can’t get enough of the food network.

by Nick Nguyen

My problem goes even deeper.  Cook books…I can’t stop buying cookbooks.  I can’t help myself they call my name and beg me to buy them.  I stand in line at the check out trying to keep my eyes forward, begging them not to look sideways.  I know if I just glance at the magazines there is going to be a recipe on the cover that I’m not going to be able to live without.  My life will not be complete if I don’t have that magazine, that recipe.

This is a sampling of what I own

The irony is that I don’t even cook.  Well I cook, I just don’t cook well.  It’s the basics for my family.  Roast chicken, roast beef, grilled steak, spaghetti, you get the idea.   Definitely nothing that requires the in-depth studies of the food network or the use of one-hundred recipe books.  I want to cook better, I want to try the recipes, I just don’t.

As for why I don’t use what I learn on the Food Network, it’s an easy explanation…I can never remember what it was that I wanted to make after watching the show.  It is just one of those side effects of  the age and the fact that I’ve watched four episodes in one sitting and they all seem to blend together in the end.  The recipe books are the same.  I’ve bought so many I can’t remember which one has the recipe I wanted to try.  Basically I have overwhelmed myself to the point of not functioning.

So please help me.  I am Sandra and I am addicted to the Food Network (and cook books)

If you have any good recipes for a simple want-to-be chef please leave them here.  I promise, if you do, I will actually try to cook it.  I’ll even blog my results.

7 thoughts on “One Woman’s Addiction

  1. I’m addicted to cookbooks, too, Sandra…so I can feel your pain. That should be the basis of a new Food Network show, shouldn’t it?? Hoarders in the Kitchen or some such thing, lol. Keep enjoying those cookbooks, though…they feed the soul with their beauty and inspiration! 🙂

  2. I enjoy browsing through cookbooks and magazines. I have scads of recipes I have cut out of magazines and newspapers. But alas – I have not tried any yet. Maybe a resolution for next year?

  3. Great post…so very true. I don’t cook either but yet I check out every new cookbook we get at the library. I always say I am going to make something then I slap the same #$@ together and plop in thier plates. I look forward to your cooking blog…

Leave a Reply

