Mommy Brag Time

Sorry, but I just have to brag, it’s what we mommies do.

Just got a text from my son who is a senior in high school.  He wanted to share with me that he was just asked to give the Valedictorian Address at his graduation.  The honor is given to the student who is ranked number one in the graduating class.  He has been ranked number one since his freshman year and has worked like a dog to keep the rank.  I am soooooo proud of him.

I can guarantee you this is going to be one mom who will need an extra-large box of Kleenex’s and waterproof mascara at graduation.

Oh my gosh I just realized I am blogging about my son’s graduation.  That is impossible, it can not be that I am really old enough and more importantly he is old enough to be graduating high school.  I think this is one of Oprah’s Ah Ha moments she talks about but I don’t think I like it.  Suddenly I don’t feel ready for him to grow up and go away.  I have spent the past year helping with the college applications, scholarship applications, getting his room in residence, it’s been all business and very hectic.  Until now I don’t think I actually processed what it meant…MY BABY IS ALL GROWN UP!  Maybe I better get the Kleenex’s now.

Congratulations son, you did it.  We never made it easy for you moving so often.  You had already been in four different school systems in three states and two countries before you finished elementary school.  We announced that yet another move was occurring for your senior year.  You showed your maturity and focus when we let you stay behind and finish your senior year without our guidance.  Not only did you do it, but you managed to stay at the top of your class.  You are an amazing young man and I am very proud to be your mom.

My Baby is All Grown Up

7 thoughts on “Mommy Brag Time

  1. Aww. I am also going to be one emotional mommy when my children graduate! I cried when my son and his preschool class sang at church three weeks ago!
    Your son is a handsome! 🙂 I hope you keep all his girlfriends in check 😉

    • I try. The one he dated most of his high school life was terrific so I can’t complain. I don’t have to worry he is more focused and pickier than I am.
      Thanks

Leave a Reply

