Toot Your Own Horn

Daily Prompt:  Toot your own horn.  Most of us are excellent at self-depreciating, and not so good at the opposite.  Tell us your favorite thing about yourself.

Horn_(instrument) (2)

Wow this is a tough one.  Is it my inability to see what is good or is it the apprehension of “tooting my horn that holds me back?”

Okay I am going to give myself one minute to write as many positive things about myself as I can.

1..2..3..go:

  1. kind
  2. good mother
  3. smart
  4. creative
  5. good friend
  6. efficient

stop!

Okay not such a good effort but at least something to start with.  Out of these six traits which is my favorite?  I would have to say my creativity.  Most of my positive traits have to do with how I am with others and translate into how I make others feel.  Don’t get me wrong being a kind, good mother and friend makes me feel good too, but my creativity is just for me.  When I sit down with a paintbrush I am pleasing no-one but myself.  I don’t care if the end product is pleasing to anyone else.  Sometimes I don’t even like it myself but I have enjoyed the process of creating.  When I create a piece of jewelry I am proud of myself and feel good about myself and again I am not trying to please anyone but myself.

Hmmm maybe I better revisit my opinion about the modern art at the MOMA.  Maybe these artists where feeling similar to me when they created their art.  I still contend that it needed an R rating but who am I to judge what someone else wants to create.  Then again I have never claimed to be an artist and I would not ever expect to hang my work in a gallery.

This was a fun exercise you should try it.  Take one minute to write down as many positive attributes about yourself as you can and then decide which is your favorite and why.  I’d love it if you would share it with me but if you prefer to keep it private I get it.  After all it isn’t easy to “toot our own horn.”

13 thoughts on “Toot Your Own Horn

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Toot Your Own Horn « Klassi K | Magazine

  2. Pingback: LEFT ALONE « hastywords

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Toot Your Horn (Our YouTube Video) | My Blog

  4. You go girl, and I agree with you, should be an R rating. Part of being a responsible parent is protecting our children. Just cause its out there doesn’t mean we want to go there. Every person sets their own boundaries, my fence may be a little higher than some, but we all get to choose.

Leave a Reply

